Canada Day 2011

Happy belated Canada Day to one and all.  July 1st was a busy day for me…no time for blogging!  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect.  Even the timing of the holiday was optimal with July 1st falling on a Friday and July 4th falling on a Monday, providing both Canadians and Americans with a long weekend. 

This spring I joined the Sauble Singers, a choir that rehearses in Sauble Beach, Ontario (just a 15 minutes drive from home) from April to August each year.  The group is comprised primarily of “Snowbirds”, hence the “summer only” rehearsals.  During the summer months the group performs at various community events and the summer culminates with a concert on the last weekend in August.  (This year’s concert will be on the afternoon of August 28th and is entitled “Hallelujah” since we’ll be singing Leonard Cohen’s composition.)  Our first performance for 2011 was at the Sauble Beach Canada Day festivities.  A stage was erected on the beach and various groups and individuals provided entertainment from 1 p.m. on.  We opened things with “O Canada” followed by a few of our other songs.  What a thrill it was to sing our national anthem on the shores of Lake Huron on our nation’s birthday!

Sauble Beach - Canada Day 2011

The Stage - Facing Lake Huron

 

Some Members of the Sauble Singers Preparing for Their Performance

Traffic was incredibly busy this Canada Day weekend.  By the time the choir performed and I fought my way through the beach traffic to get back home it was almost 2:30.  Mike had to be at work by 5 p.m. which meant I had to roll up my sleeves and get our Canada Day dinner underway!  I had planned a special menu for the holiday and I had even fashioned some new table linens in red and white to mark the occasion.  Our Canada Day menu was as follows:

Canada Day 2011 – Menu

Spinach Salad with Strawberry Champagne Vinaigrette (from Epicurious)

Honey Yeast Rolls (from Annie’s Eats)

Garlic Mashed Potatoes (my own recipe…potatoes, roasted garlic, cream, butter)

Green Beans with Almonds (from William Sonoma)

T-bone Steaks – grilled by my son Mike

~and for dessert~

Cherry Pie (recipe from my Mom’s old Robin Hood flour cookbook)

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream (from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz)

Here are a few photos of our feast!

Spinach Salad with Strawberry Champagne Vinaigrette

Honey Yeast Rolls

Cherry Pie

(I got the idea for the pastry cutouts from Annie of Annie’s Eats.  She made an “All-American” star-topped apple pie and I thought…why not a Canadian version.  I figured the cherries would provide the red but unfortunately cherry season in my neck of the woods doesn’t begin until a few weeks after Canada Day.  My Mom’s old Robin Hood Flour cookbook (a real treasure!) provided the solution with its recipe for “Canned Cherry Pie”.  It was also a good way to use up some of the cherries I canned last summer.)

Our Canada Day Dinner Table (complete with ketchup for Mike…he pointed out that it is red…and therefore patriotic)

I already had the white tablecloth.  What I needed was a touch of red to make our Canada Day table setting complete.  I was fortunate enough to find a bag packed with various pieces of red fabric at our local thrift store for only $2.50! 

 

The pieces were huge (there was so much left over I could probably make a couple of dresses if I wanted!).  I made a table runner to fit the full length of my six foot picnic table as well as six extra large matching napkins.  A few silk carnations from Dollarama in my white pitcher and there was enough red and white to please any Canadian. 

Canada is a wonderful country and I feel truly blessed to call it home.

Leave a Reply

