Odds and sods

I haven’t been writing much lately.  My creative juices have been flowing in other directions.  I’ve been doing a lot of cooking lately, trying lots of new recipes.  That surprises even me.  I thought that domestic bent in my personality had disappeared long ago.  The following are a few of the creations I’ve concocted over the last couple of weeks.

Chick Pea and Rosemary SoupThe recipe for this Rosemary Chickpea Soup with Tomatoes and Barley came from a blog that I found when I followed a link in another blog to a link in a second blog and arrived at the blog belonging to Annie.  The soup was delicious and Annie provided excellent step-by-step instructions complete with pictures!  The recipe made a large batch.  Mike and I enjoyed it the day it was made and then I put what was left into one-litre mason jars (with a bit of head space, of course!) and stashed them in the freezer.   I’m hoping to thaw one of the jars this weekend and enjoy it again, this time with Soft Garlic Knots (recipe from Annie’s Eats…a different Annie).

Pizza BitesLast weekend I tried several recipes from the blog “Annie’s Eats” (which has quickly become my favourite go-to spot for great recipes!)  Mike thoroughly enjoyed these Pizza Bites which he dipped in my homemade Pizza Sauce (another recipe from Annie’s Eats).  That was lunch.  For dinner I tried Annie’s recipe for turkey burgers which I served on homemade burger buns.  Also delicious…although I’m afraid they were eaten before I had a chance to take any pictures.

Red Velvet Cupcake with Cream Cheese FrostingFinally, I made Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.  I had seen these on Annie’s blog, each cupcake topped with a tiny red heart.  In one of the comments regarding the recipe Annie had mentioned that the hearts were actually sprinkles.  When I saw tiny maple leaf sprinkles at my local Bulk Barn I knew what was making for Canada Day.  This batch was the trial run (Mike needed snacks to take to an upcoming Youth Theatre Coalition meeting anyway).  I think they turned out quite well.  They looked very patriotic in their red cupcake paper liners, although I have since found some cupcake papers decorated with Canadian flags which I have on hand for the July 1st batch.

Slippers for MomAlthough I’ve been trying lots of new recipes, I haven’t spent  all my time in the kitchen.  My mother is turning 94 on June 25th and I wanted to be sure to have a homemade element in her birthday gift.  Mom suffers from congestive heart failure.  As a result, her circulation is very poor.  Her feet and legs are extremely swollen – so swollen that she can no longer fit into shoes or even slippers.  I made these slippers for her…extra wide with lots of stretch.  Hopefully they’ll fit!  The pattern came from IrisKnits and I made the slippers in Bernat Roving.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. northernnarratives
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 13:51:53

    I love to cook. These recipes look absolutely delicious! And I think that your mother will love the slippers! Judy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

